opinion

We will try and answer Questions in this forum. If you are having any issues with iScore Baseball, this is probably the best place to start. You can also search historical posts here.
Post Reply
coach1
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:44 am

opinion

Post by coach1 » Fri Jun 24, 2011 3:44 pm

Runner on third 2 outs batter hits grounded down the line. First baseman tags runner not bag for third out. Runner from third scores before tag important rules run counts because play was not a force due to tag. Right call or not?
User avatar
team mom
Posts: 881
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2010 4:47 am
Location: Atlanta, GA

Re: opinion

Post by team mom » Fri Jun 24, 2011 5:03 pm

The run does not count per the following. Note the exception. (MLB rules)

4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES.
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,
second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a
play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first
base;
(2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is
declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
Team Mom

Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5501
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: opinion

Post by OhioTex » Sat Jun 25, 2011 5:22 pm

@coach1. Is batter-runner tagged BEFORE or AFTER he touched first base?
coach1
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:44 am

Re: opinion

Post by coach1 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 7:02 am

Before but further research verifies it doesn't matter. It's still a force and run should not have counted. I believe its rule 4.09
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5501
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: opinion

Post by OhioTex » Sun Jun 26, 2011 3:04 pm

it does matter, if runner was safe at first, it would become a timing play after that. ( per the rule team mom quoted above. and you referenced)
coach1
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:44 am

Re: opinion

Post by coach1 » Sun Jun 26, 2011 4:05 pm

He wasn't safe at first. He was tagged out for the


ird out as he came down the line. I understand safe at first the run would count and play would continue
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5501
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: opinion

Post by OhioTex » Sun Jun 26, 2011 4:15 pm

Perhaps I misunderstood, I thought you said it did not matter if he touched first, before or after the tag. will try again, if he touched first then got taggd out then a timing play, if (as you clarified) he got tagged before he touched first, then the run should not count.

I think we are on the sampe page
coach1
Posts: 121
Joined: Fri Sep 24, 2010 5:44 am

Re: opinion

Post by coach1 » Mon Jun 27, 2011 2:44 am

You are correct my doesn't matter comment was in reference to tagging the runner or the base to get the out. Guess my response was a little confusing. The runner never made it to first. The imo said the play wasn't a force after the tag and counted the run. Oh well we will get them I'm the losers bracket. Thanks for all the info
User avatar
OhioTex
Posts: 5501
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 6:48 am
Location: Columbus OH

Re: opinion

Post by OhioTex » Mon Jun 27, 2011 6:14 am

very bad/rookie call on the field.
Post Reply