opinion
opinion
Runner on third 2 outs batter hits grounded down the line. First baseman tags runner not bag for third out. Runner from third scores before tag important rules run counts because play was not a force due to tag. Right call or not?
Re: opinion
The run does not count per the following. Note the exception. (MLB rules)
4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES.
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,
second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a
play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first
base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is
declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
4.09 HOW A TEAM SCORES.
(a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,
second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a
play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first
base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is
declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
Team Mom
Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Check out the new iscore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Re: opinion
@coach1. Is batter-runner tagged BEFORE or AFTER he touched first base?
Re: opinion
Before but further research verifies it doesn't matter. It's still a force and run should not have counted. I believe its rule 4.09
Re: opinion
it does matter, if runner was safe at first, it would become a timing play after that. ( per the rule team mom quoted above. and you referenced)
Re: opinion
He wasn't safe at first. He was tagged out for the
ird out as he came down the line. I understand safe at first the run would count and play would continue
ird out as he came down the line. I understand safe at first the run would count and play would continue
Re: opinion
Perhaps I misunderstood, I thought you said it did not matter if he touched first, before or after the tag. will try again, if he touched first then got taggd out then a timing play, if (as you clarified) he got tagged before he touched first, then the run should not count.
I think we are on the sampe page
I think we are on the sampe page
Re: opinion
You are correct my doesn't matter comment was in reference to tagging the runner or the base to get the out. Guess my response was a little confusing. The runner never made it to first. The imo said the play wasn't a force after the tag and counted the run. Oh well we will get them I'm the losers bracket. Thanks for all the info
Re: opinion
very bad/rookie call on the field.
