Two outs, nobody on. Ball is squibbed off the end of the bat by LH batter toward 3B. 3B needs to charge and has to hurry, as BR is busting down the line. He fields the ball cleanly, but on the run. From where I sat, it was difficult to see the angle of the throw, but it appeared that the throw took the 1B up the line toward home, into the basepath. The ball and runner arrive in the vicinity of 1B at about the same time, and there is a collision, but runner gets to the bag. No call whatsoever by the umpire (I yell at BR son to "stay on the bag!"). He gets back on the bag, and umpire calls (seconds later) "Safe!" In the ensuing discussion, which I thought might revolve around obstruction, the umpire is clearly heard to say "the first baseman did not get his foot to the bag."
I saw three possible scenarios: (1) this is a hit - the play required extraordinary effort on the part of both the 3B and 1B, and even though one or both may not have made his play perfectly, it was not the situation where I felt an error was justified (ultimately what I chose); (2) error on the 3B for the throw (tough, because he had to charge hard and come across his body); or (3) error on the 1B for not getting his foot on the bag, even though he caught the ball. Thje third option was really the only other one I considered, but it was really dependent on whether and by how much the ball may have beat the runner (not by much, if at all), and how far off-line the throw may have been (difficult for me to see, from where I sat on the 3B line).
I am curious how others might view this.
I am also curious, if this had been called obstruction, is the BR credited with a hit?
Thanks,
Pete
