The situation:
Bases are loaded, nobody out, and the batter hits a (questionable) short line drive to 2nd, and the umps do not call the infield fly rule. 2nd baseman throws home for the first out, catcher throws to third for the second.
Question:
How would you enter this in iScore? The way it's showing on my scorecard, as it stands, is the runner who is out at home is FO6, the runner out at third is FC4-2-5, and the batter is FC. Is that correct? Or is there a better way to score it? Thanks.
4-2-5 double play scoring question
-
BravesFan81
- Posts: 2
- Joined: Thu Jun 24, 2010 1:41 pm
Re: 4-2-5 double play scoring question
Not sure why runner at home is not out 4-2. Sounds like 2B did not catch the ball in the air, or you would have a triple play. So not sure how FO6 even comes into play. Agree runner out at 3B is 4-2-5, and batter is safe at 1B by FC.
Re: 4-2-5 double play scoring question
FO6 = force out batter 6 (nothing to do with Short Stop, the number is the batter in FO case not the fielder)
If you enter like below.. your score Score Card will show "FC 4-2-5" at both Home and 3rd - is that what you want it to show? If so..
In Play
Safe > Fielders Choice > Touch location > Next
Touch each player..
2B - C - 3B Done
What Happen to Runer at 3?
Out > Force Out
What Happen to Runner at 2?
Out > Force Out
What Happen to Runner at 1?
Safe > Advance by Batter
What Happend to Batter ?
Safe > Held Up (or Advance by batter, does not matter)
If you enter like below.. your score Score Card will show "FC 4-2-5" at both Home and 3rd - is that what you want it to show? If so..
In Play
Safe > Fielders Choice > Touch location > Next
Touch each player..
2B - C - 3B Done
What Happen to Runer at 3?
Out > Force Out
What Happen to Runner at 2?
Out > Force Out
What Happen to Runner at 1?
Safe > Advance by Batter
What Happend to Batter ?
Safe > Held Up (or Advance by batter, does not matter)
-
Bryan D Shepherd
- Posts: 208
- Joined: Fri Apr 16, 2010 11:25 am
- Location: St. Albans, WV; District 3 Little League Umpire; WVSSAC Softball Umpire KS1904
Re: 4-2-5 double play scoring question
I'm not sure if you were asking a question about the IFF rule, but I'll go ahead and clarify it
This is not an infield fly because it must be a pop up in the infield that can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort. A line drive or a bunt is never an infield fly.
This is not an infield fly because it must be a pop up in the infield that can be caught by an infielder with ordinary effort. A line drive or a bunt is never an infield fly.
