This question came up at a recent high school game regarding the leeway a scorer has in awarding a sac fly to a batter. I have always interpreted the rule as only when a baserunner scores from third after tagging up as the result of a fly ball hit to an outfielder deep enough to score the runner from third.
However, I was asked if under the same situation but the runner advances from second to third, can the scorer award a sac fly and save the batter an at bat? This is new to me but I said I would clarify the rule. It was also mentioned that this would not relate to a runner moving from first to second as a runner at second is not as much a scoring threat as one at third. does either interpretation have merit as far as commonly accepted scoring rules apply?
sac fly rules
- FTMSupport
- Site Admin
- Posts: 13193
- Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm
Re: sac fly rules
A sac fly is awarded only if a runner scores.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
