Page 1 of 1

hit or no hit

Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 6:42 am
by rdwyermets
with runners on first and second and two outs a line drive is hit by the batter and the ball hits the runner going from second to third. i know the runners is out. does the batter get credit for a hit or not?

Re: hit or no hit

Posted: Thu May 17, 2012 6:45 am
by mprusak
yes.

mlb rule 10.05.5

(a) The official scorer shall credit a batter with a base hit when:
(5) a fair ball that has not been touched by a fielder touches a runner or an umpire, unless a runner is called out for having been touched by an Infield Fly, in which case the official scorer shall not score a hit; or