Runner on third base, fewer than two outs. The batter hits a fly ball, which is caught. Three different questions:
1) The batter left third base before the ball was caught, runs home, and crosses home plate. At this point they realize their mistake, and run back to third base, touching home plate on the way. Somehow they manage to make it back before the ball arrives. What is the result? Are they able to return to third base, even though they had already touched home plate?
2) The batter did NOT leave third base early -- they left after the ball was caught. They run home and cross home plate. At this point, a teammate tells them (incorrectly) that they left the base early. The runner doesn't realize this isn't true, so they return to third base, touching home plate along the way. Somehow they get back before the ball arrives. What is the result? Can they return to third base and "un-score" their run?
3) I think the answer to #2 will dictate the answer to this one, but... Same as #2, except that the runner is tagged out by the third baseman while trying to return to third base (ie they re-touched home plate, but they did not get back safely to third base before being tagged out). Is the runner out because they chose to re-touch home plate and retreat toward third base?
I guess the crux of all of these issues is -- is the runner allowed to re-touch home plate and return to third base? And, if so, does that automatically and always put them back in peril of being put out? And if so, does this mean that their run did not score, and they are either safe at third or out at third, depending on how the rest of the play unfolds? (or I suppose they could be safe at home for a second time, if they ran back to home yet again).
Thanks for your help!
Tag-ups from third base
Re: Tag-ups from third base
1) Yes, this should be legal as long as they retouch home plate.
2 & 3) I'm not as sure about this one, but as near as I can tell, as long as the runner touches home plate on their way back to 3rd, then they are in play and liable to be put out. This would unscore their run since they retouched the plate. If they are tagged before reaching third, then they are out. If they make it back, then nothing unless the runner then tries to advance home.
I'm not sure of what would happen to the runner that had tagged legally and made it home and to the dugout then thought they had to go back to third.
2 & 3) I'm not as sure about this one, but as near as I can tell, as long as the runner touches home plate on their way back to 3rd, then they are in play and liable to be put out. This would unscore their run since they retouched the plate. If they are tagged before reaching third, then they are out. If they make it back, then nothing unless the runner then tries to advance home.
I'm not sure of what would happen to the runner that had tagged legally and made it home and to the dugout then thought they had to go back to third.
Check out the iScore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Re: Tag-ups from third base
My instinct was that in all cases, the runner is allowed to re-touch home plate and is then liable to be put out, but I couldn't find firm supporting evidence in the rule book.
Re: Tag-ups from third base
The comment in 7.08(i) is the only section I can find that deals with this, but it doesn't mention home plate explicitly.
7.08(i) itself deals with a runner who goes back a base to confuse the defense or make a "travesty of the game".Rule 7.08(i) Comment: If a runner touches an unoccupied base and then thinks the ball was caught
or is decoyed into returning to the base he last touched, he may be put out running back to that base, but if
he reaches the previously occupied base safely he cannot be put out while in contact with that base.
Check out the iScore documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Re: Tag-ups from third base
Did the runner make it to the dugout before he went back to third? If so I have seen a rule applied that he "abandoned the field" so would be out regardless if he got back to third. This applies to scenario 1.
Re: Tag-ups from third base
No, they hadn't gotten to the dugout. I am pretty sure that if they do that, they aren't allowed to return to their bag.
