Rule 10.12(a)(1) Comment:
I hear this topic come up quite often while I am sitting in the stands. You will often hear, "Well, he didn't touch the ball so it could not have been an error, even though it went between his legs. It is an error!... It is not necessary that the fielder touch the ball to be charged with an error. If a ground ball goes through a fielder's legs or a fly ball falls untouched and, in the scorer's judgment, the fielder could have handled the ball with ordinary effort, the official scorer shall charge such fielder with an error.
This section places a lot of responsibility on the scorekeeper. He/She must identify if said fielder "making ordinary effort" could have caught the ball or made the play. If such judgement is made and under ordinary effort the play would have been made then an error must be scored.For example, the official scorer shall charge an infielder with an error when a ground ball passes to either side of such infielder if, in the official scorer’s judgment, a fielder at that position making ordinary effort would have fielded such ground ball and retired a runner. The official scorer shall charge an outfielder with an error if such outfielder allows a fly ball to drop to the ground if, in the official scorer’s judgment, an outfielder at that position making ordinary effort would have caught such fly ball.
Often you hear that the error was on the first baseman for not making a catch by digging out a poorly thrown ball. Had he made the catch, the runner would have been out, right!? The error was actually on the throw, not the catch. The throw would be "ordinary effort" part, but a catch like this would be spectacular. Error assigned to the fielder making the throw.If a throw is low, wide or high, or strikes the ground, and a runner reaches base who otherwise would have been put out by such throw, the official scorer shall charge the player making the throw with an error.
I'm going to give him an error because he should have known better or he should have thrown it to second instead of third. Nope, no error should be recorded here.The official scorer shall not score mental mistakes or misjudgments as errors unless a specific rule prescribes otherwise.
Fairly self explanatory, an error should be recorded in these scenarios.A fielder’s mental mistake that leads to a physical misplay—such as throwing the ball into the stands or rolling the ball to the pitcher’s mound, mistakenly believing there to be three outs, and thereby allowing a runner or runners to advance—shall not be considered a mental mistake for purposes of this rule and the official scorer shall charge a fielder committing such a mistake with an error.
No comments here, reads fairly clearly.The official scorer shall not charge an error if the pitcher fails to cover first base on a play, thereby allowing a batter-runner to reach first base safely. The official scorer shall not charge an error to a fielder who incorrectly throws to the wrong base on a play.
Trying to turn a double play, an unassisted 6-3 double play, the second baseman attempts to retrieve the same batted ball and arriving late bumps into the SS who then drops the ball attempting to make the throw to first base. Record the error to the second baseman not SS. Runner out at second, batter runner safe at first on error by 2B.The official scorer shall charge an error to a fielder who causes another fielder to misplay a ball—for example, by knocking the ball out of the other fielder’s glove. On such a play, when the official scorer charges an error to the interfering fielder, the official scorer shall not charge an error to the fielder with whom the other fielder interfered.
I hope some of this helps in scoring some of these situations. Read more of 10.12 for additional scoring specifics on errors.