MLB 10.09(b)(1) states that a putout should be automatically be credited to a catcher when the batter is "called" out on strikes.
Just curious how the stats for Putouts handle strike outs where batter is swinging? That is not really a "called" out. It is a K for sure but noticed the other day that our catcher as like 100 putouts. That seems high to me but though I would ask.
Have not seen this one yet in our games but am curious. 10.09(c) The official scorer shall credit automatic putouts as follows: (1) - when the batter is called out on an Infield Fly that is not caught, the scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder who the scorer believes could have made the catch.
Wow, the Putouts rule has lots of if then elses. I can only hope that iScore has been programmed in such a way as to catch all these oddities and generate the putouts correctly.
-----------------
10.09 Putouts
A putout is a statistic credited to a fielder whose action causes the out of a batter-runner or runner, as set
forth in this Rule 10.09.
(a) The official scorer shall credit a putout to each fielder who
(1) catches a ball that is in flight, whether fair or foul;
(2) catches a batted or thrown ball and tags a base to put out a batter or runner; or
Rule 10.09(a)(2) Comment: The official scorer shall credit a fielder with a putout if such fielder catches a
thrown ball and tags a base to record an out on an appeal play.
(3) tags a runner when the runner is off the base to which the runner is entitled.
(b) The official scorer shall credit an automatic putout to the catcher when a:
(1) batter is called out on strikes;
(2) batter is called out for an illegally batted ball;
(3) batter is called out for bunting foul for his third strike;
Rule 10.09(b)(3) Comment: Note the exception in Rule 10.15(a)(4).
(4) batter is called out for being touched by his own batted ball;
(5) batter is called out for interfering with the catcher;
(6) batter is called out for failing to bat in his proper turn;
Rule 10.09(b)(6) Comment: See Rule 10.03(d).
(7) batter is called out for refusing to touch first base after receiving a base on balls, after being hit by a pitch
or after a catcher’s interference ; or
(8) runner is called out for refusing to advance from third base to home plate.
(c) The official scorer shall credit automatic putouts as follows (and shall credit no assists on these plays
except as specified):
(1) When the batter is called out on an Infield Fly that is not caught, the official scorer shall credit the putout to
the fielder who the scorer believes could have made the catch;
(2) When a runner is called out for being touched by a fair ball (including an Infield Fly), the official scorer
shall credit the putout to the fielder nearest the ball;
(3) When a runner is called out for running out of line to avoid being tagged, the official scorer shall credit the
putout to the fielder whom the runner avoided;
(4) When a runner is called out for passing another runner, the official scorer shall credit the putout to the
fielder nearest the point of passing;
(5) When a runner is called out for running the bases in reverse order, the official scorer shall credit the
putout to the fielder covering the base the runner left in starting his reverse run;
(6) When a runner is called out for having interfered with a fielder, the official scorer shall credit the putout to
the fielder with whom the runner interfered, unless the fielder was in the act of throwing the ball when the
interference occurred, in which case the official scorer shall credit the putout to the fielder for whom the throw
was intended and shall credit an assist to the fielder whose throw was interfered with; or
(7) When the batter-runner is called out because of interference by a preceding runner, as provided in Rule
6.05(m), the official scorer shall credit the putout to the first baseman. If the fielder interfered with was in the
act of throwing the ball, the official scorer shall credit such fielder with an assist but shall credit only one
assist on any one play under the provisions of Rule 10.09(c)(6) and 10.09(c)(7).
Putout on strikes
- brentwalker
- Posts: 242
- Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:13 pm
- Location: Houston Area
- FTMSupport
- Site Admin
- Posts: 13193
- Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm
Re: Putout on strikes
Yes, we have implemented the put out rules for the vast majority of these cases.
If you enter an infield fly, iScore will ask you who the closest fielder was.
A putout is assigned to the catcher for any strikeout (swinging or called). As you will see in MLB rules, the catcher is kind of the "default" for putouts when they are otherwise not obvious.
If you enter an infield fly, iScore will ask you who the closest fielder was.
A putout is assigned to the catcher for any strikeout (swinging or called). As you will see in MLB rules, the catcher is kind of the "default" for putouts when they are otherwise not obvious.
- brentwalker
- Posts: 242
- Joined: Thu Jul 30, 2009 7:13 pm
- Location: Houston Area
Re: Putout on strikes
You guys have done a great job then on handling all these scenarios.
Ah, re-reading the rule it says that the batter is called "out" on strikes and does not really mean to imply swinging or called, right? That is not how I read it the first time.
Cool.
Ah, re-reading the rule it says that the batter is called "out" on strikes and does not really mean to imply swinging or called, right? That is not how I read it the first time.
Cool.