sac fly rules

We will try and answer Questions in this forum. If you are having any issues with iScore Baseball, this is probably the best place to start. You can also search historical posts here.
Post Reply
VVHSDoug
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2012 9:28 am

sac fly rules

Post by VVHSDoug » Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:48 am

This question came up at a recent high school game regarding the leeway a scorer has in awarding a sac fly to a batter. I have always interpreted the rule as only when a baserunner scores from third after tagging up as the result of a fly ball hit to an outfielder deep enough to score the runner from third.

However, I was asked if under the same situation but the runner advances from second to third, can the scorer award a sac fly and save the batter an at bat? This is new to me but I said I would clarify the rule. It was also mentioned that this would not relate to a runner moving from first to second as a runner at second is not as much a scoring threat as one at third. does either interpretation have merit as far as commonly accepted scoring rules apply?
User avatar
FTMSupport
Site Admin
Posts: 13193
Joined: Sat Mar 28, 2009 7:25 pm

Re: sac fly rules

Post by FTMSupport » Thu Apr 12, 2012 8:58 am

A sac fly is awarded only if a runner scores.
Check out the new iScore Baseball documentation page!
Includes videos and user manual.
http://iscoresports.com/baseball/training.php#docs
Post Reply